John Keating, Brandon Burden win spots in March 25 runoff in Frisco TX special election to fill vacancy on city council

The votes are in for the Place 1 Special Election to fill a vacancy in Frisco TX, with John Keating receiving 45.72 percent of the votes cast Saturday. Keating will face Brandon Burden in a Place 1 city council seat runoff on March 25. The winner of the runoff to fill a vacancy on the Frisco city council will serve Place 1 through May 2018.
Keating had the strongest turnout in early voting, where he received 1,477 of his votes. On Saturday, he gained 532 to finish with 2,009 total votes.
Burden received 18.57 percent of the 4,394 total votes cast in the Frisco city council special election. Burden had 547 after early voting and gained 269 on special election day for 816 votes.
K.D. Warach had 226 votes Saturday, Feb. 18 after finishing early voting with 269. Warach ended with 495 for 11.27 percent.
Stanley Wang received 234 early votes, 130 on special election day and 364 total. He received 8.28 percent.
Only 4,394 votes out of Putting up signs doesn’t work these days. No one looks at the Election Sign Polution littering up the street corners. It still takes getting out your own friends and putting in time with civic clubs and public service on city boards along with making calls and meeting your neighbors.
As you can see, not all of their facebook friends turned out to vote, although they do have many of the same friends. There are 88,745 registered voters, including 51,483 in Collin County and 37,262 in Denton County.
Henry A. (Hal) Thomas gained 123 early votes and 49 Saturday for 172 and 3.91 percent. Dan Stricklin had 93 early votes, 68 more election day for 161 and 3.66 percent.
Stacy Plummer picked up 106 in early voting, 51 Saturday and 157 total for 3.57 percent.
Davon Vinci had 77 early votes, 40 Saturday and 117 total for 2.66 percent. John Redmond had 58 votes early, 45 on Saturday and 103 overall to finish with 2.34 percent.
In Frisco, Texas, in 2017, 2,984 votes were cast early.  The election came down to 1,410 votes on election day and 4,394 votes.
The 2017 General Election will be Saturday, May 6, 2017. The election will elect candidates to fill Place 5 and Place 6 on the City Council, as well as the position of Mayor.

For information regarding candidates who have filed for a place on the ballot or submitted campaign finance reports, please click on this link.

If you have any additional questions regarding the upcoming General Election, please feel free to email the City Secretary’s Office at or call 972-292-5020.

To candidates: If you want to do better next time, get in touch with Collin County Magazine’s Brian Bearden. We will interview you and tell your story on online and on video.

Frisco TX Special Election Feb. 18 for City Council Place 1 seat

The Frisco City Council has called a Special Election to fill a vacancy. The election will take place on February 18, 2017. This election will fill City Council Place 1 with a term expiration of May 2018.

The last day to register to vote for the Feb. 18, 2017 Special Election is Thursday, Jan. 19, 2017. For additional information on how to register to vote please click here.

If you have questions or concerns regarding the Election, during normal business hours, Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., please call 972-292-5020. If you are calling outside of normal business hours, please call: 972-292-5010.

Election Day Voting: Saturday, February 18, 2017

Collin County Voters:

Election Day voting by personal appearance shall be at the following locations, and any of the additional Election Day Vote Centers open under full contract services with Collin County Elections Administrator, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. (see map)

City Precinct No. Collin County Precinct No. Address


30, 92, 101, 111, 117, 118, 127, 146 and 177

Collin College, Preston Ridge Campus 9700 Wade Blvd.
Frisco, Texas 75035


87, 134 and 212

Fire Station No. 8
14700 Rolater Rd.
Frisco, Texas 75035

Denton County Voters:

Election Day voting by personal appearance shall be at the following locations, according to voter precincts, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. (see map)

City Precinct No. Denton County Precinct No. Address


1028, 1029, 1030, 1031, 1036, 1040 and 2028

Fire Station No. 7
330 W. Stonebrook Parkway
Frisco, Texas 75034


1032, 1033, 1034 and 1035

Fire Station No. 4
4485 Cotton Gin Road
Frisco, Texas 75034

To see the polling locations that will not be used in this election, please click here.

These candidates are running for Frisco City Council Place 1: (names below appear as they do on the ballot)

John Keating
Stacy Plummer
Damon Vinci
Henry A. (Hal) Thomas
Brandon Burden
K. D. Warach
Dan Stricklin
John Redmond
Stanley Wang


%d bloggers like this: