State champion: London Culbreath #McKinneyNorth 10:40.47 #3200meters (Top four at 5A State finished fast, within 1 second behind winner)

McKinney North: Congrats London Culbreath on Texas state cross country championship

North star: Congrats to three-time state winner London Culbreath on her victory at the Texas State 5A Cross Country Championship in Round Rock, Texas.

She is undefeated in UIL 5K races.

Thanks to Texas MileSplit @txmilesplit for sharing photo on social media. Texas Mile Split is a trusted friend of runners across the state. Runners: Please follow and support @txmilesplit and @collincountydfw share local success stories on social media

Basketball: Prosper girls bounce Newman Smith, 67-10

Jordyn Oliver scored 13 and Madie Bunker had 10 as Prosper ran up a 23-2 first-quarter lead en route to a 67-10 win over Carrollton Newman Smith. Prosper held Newman Smith to four points in the first half.

Ashia Pool scored 17 for McKinney North on Friday in a 41-39 loss to Carrollton Creekview in overtime.

Lovejoy defeated West Mesquite, 58-15, on Friday. Kim Lynne and Carsen McFadden each scored 10 points, and Taylor Meixelsperger added a dozen to lead Lovejoy..

The Melissa – Anna rivalry saw Sally Clemmons scored 16 to lead Melissa to a 55-29 victory. Taylor Carney and Taylor Thomas scored 10 each.

Princeton beat Celina, 61-32, as Payton Aungst scored 20. Alyssa Rivera had nine points. Grace Gibbs led Celina with 14.

Chloe Lamarque had 15 points and Lauren Wimsatt had 10 in John Paul II’s 40-29 win over Fort Worth Bishop Nolan. Delinah Hailey scored nine.

Prestonwood beat Argyle Liberty, 39-34, as Jordan Webster scored 17, and Payton Hicks had 10.

McKinney Christian ran over Vanguard, 57-14, as Marissa Wilks scored 16 and Althea Wolfe had 12.



Boys basketball: McKinney Boyd tops Wylie by 1

McKinney Boyd, led by Jacob Riding’s 15 points, edged Wylie, 53-52, on Friday.

Wylie led, 22-10, after one quarter and by six points at the half. Boyd outscored Wylie, 22-16, in the final eight minutes.

Cameron Wells led Wylie with 14 points.

In other 6-6A boys basketball games, Brenton Mills scored 16 to lead Allen over Plano West, 68-41. Denton Guyer beat Plano East, 90-54, behind De’Vion Harmon’s 20 points.

Hunter Meyer scored 21 points as Plano defeated McKinney, 58-39. Byron Schoby scored 13 for McKinney.

In 13-5A, Frisco Heritage beat Independence, 74-69. Donovan Souter scored 19 and Tavaughn Flowers had 18. Bryan Maxey scored 32 for Independence.

Frisco Lone Star bounced by Frisco, 63-29. Johnny Stillwell scored 14 for Lone Star. Cody Perry led Frisco with nine.

Frisco Liberty topped Centennial, 59-41, as Zion Richardson scored 19. Tristan Meadors led Centennial with eight.

Wakeland beat Reedy, 57-34, as Cooper Sisco scored 30. Noah Goss had eight for Reedy.

In 11-4A, Celina outran Princeton, 74-67. Karson Stastny had 28 points and Hayden Hollins scored 16 for Celina. Haven Ousley led Princeton with 21.

Carson Holden scored 15 in Lovejoy’s 40-30 victory over West Mesquite in 15-5A. Mesquite Poteet beat Wylie East, 74-59. Sage King had 23 and Xavier Smith 21 for East.

In 14-5A, Prosper beat Newman Smith, 56-48, behind Zach Wrightsill’s 18 points.

McKinney North topped Carrollton Creekview, 57-26, with Maliek Perry scoring 15.

In TAPPS, Frisco Legacy Christian edged Brighter Horizons of Garland, 63-60. Jack Johnson scored 19 for Legacy. Jonathan Alexandre had 15 and Ben Johnson 12.

John Paul II beat Bishop Nolan of Fort Worth, 51-43. Kyle Schichi scored for 25 points.



Civic club spotlight: Ready to be of service? Consider McKinney Rotary

How did the Rotary Four-Way Test begin?

R.D. Foster will be the McKinney Rotary guest speaker at noon Friday.

McKinney Rotary 2017 schedule

RD Foster – Sept. 15, 2017

Highly decorated Veteran – Marine Corps

New Member Classification – OKTOBERFEST

Sept. 22, 2017
Meet at Sheraton

Tiffany Savage

Sept. 29, 2017

Belle & Sparrows

Stella Stevens

Oct 6, 2017
Students of the Month – MBHS / RYLA / New Member Classification

Patricia Ramos

Oct 13, 2017
McKinney JROTC Cadets

Lindsay Langton – Oct. 20, 2017

Open Horizons Day Hab

Jeff Blackard Oct. 27, 2017

Neo-Retroism – Development Of a Village

Stella Stevens Nov. 3, 2017

Student of the Month – MNHS / New Member Classification

Joslin DSouza – Elizabeth Johnston – Nov. 10, 2017

King of the Nations Nativity Concert Performance – benefitting Habitat for Humanity

Student of the Month – Dec. 1, 2017

MNHS / New Member Classification

Jim Malatich Jan. 19, 2018

Hope’s Door

Dr. Albert Tezeno – Jan. 26, 2018

Collin College

Eppy Thern Feb. 2, 2018

Shiloh Place

Darrell Auterson

Feb 9, 2018

MEDC – New Development in McKinney

Learn more about MCKINNEY ROTARY



Plano ISD students selected for Elite All-Region Choir Ensembles

More than 700 middle school singers participated in the annual Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) Region 25 All-Region Choir auditions on Saturday, March 28, at Otto Middle School in Plano. Of the 214 students selected to participate in these elite choral ensembles, 119 (representing 57 percent of those selected) are Plano ISD students.

“These outstanding young musicians will gather at McKinney North High School on Saturday, April 18, to form the three All-Region Choirs,” noted Plano ISD director of Fine Arts Kathy Kuddess. The two women’s choirs and one men’s choir will participate in rehearsals with outstanding conductors and present a free concert for family and friends.

Middle school singers representing Plano ISD are:
Middle School All-Region Choral Students
Armstrong: David Munoz Sarabia
Bowman: Chigozie Arisa
Carpenter: Shiloh Crider
Frankford: Henry Marshall, Elizabeth Bunker, Samantha Chacko, Hayley Victry, Sierra Flad
Haggard: Sam Taylor, Sydney Disabato
Hendrick: Alexa Martinez, McKenna Johnson
Murphy: Joseph Chrobak, Carter Waid, Aaron Starkweather, Aidan Gardiner, Cameron Canterberry, Ryan Quan, Dylan Kozuch, Jakob Schlegel, Brennan Barker, Avery Moore, Katie Wang, Alexandria Tillery, Katie Schoenekase, Maggie Williams, Malie Faulkner, Fareen Islam, Ashley Schmitt, Ada Sarac
Otto: Rushik Pudhiyvattle, Elise Leonard, Laura Aniakor
Renner: Larry Davis, John Eric Neibel, Channary Tsui, Hannah Shin, Jensyn Hatcher, Claire Keating, Nataleigh Cobb, Marissa Mondragon, Courtney Whitt, Jocelyn Mendoza
Rice: William Dang, Jack Forden, Ajay Cinclair, Jason Deng, Alden Felix, Bennett Xu, Rishi Malhotra, Chang Andrew, Anshu Nayak, Matt George, Cameron Ho, Sara Sadri, Priyanka Jaisinghani, Jessica Shen, Emily Whalen, Zoe Pitts, Manasi Gummaraju, Vilasini Nayar, Sreeragini Ghantasala, Paige Evans, Jyona Nazareno, Morgan Smith, Adeline Baumbach, Rhea Karkera, Srinidhi Mereddy, Faith Abraham, Shriya Telakalapalli, Bella Ramirez, Parina Vyasa, Yayi Ding, Varsha Sudeep, Aliza Abbas, Jasmine Lu, Carolyn Shan, Katherine Jan
Robinson: Jun Beltran, Andrew Guiou, Shivesh Basu, Tim Anderson, Alex Collier, Parsa Maboudian, Sean Johnson, Annie Kurian, Avantika Chellury, Sarah Kersey, Leena Sears, Caitlin Gill, Alex Poole, Sophia Warner, Vaibhavi Hemasundar, Saher Lakhani, Sanjana Manikandan, Grace Yu, Melissa Vick, Christina Park, Sophie Albert, Kelsey Taft, Sigrid Edstrom, Megan Simmons, Johanna Hill, Caroline Shee, Vinita Dixit, Claire Teterud, Amaya Thomas, Ellie Roth, Talia Dave
Schimelpfenig: Angela Wang, Emily Kolb, Claire Fulton, Carley Clement
Wilson: Joseph Herpeche, Abby Nelson, Lillian Melcer, Emily Moorer, Noor Nazeer

%d bloggers like this: