Congressman Ralph Hall air-lifted to Plano hospital after traffic accident on SH 121

Texas DPS reports that Congressman Ralph Hall is now stable in the Medical Center of Plano on Saturday evening.

Congressman Ralph Hall was air lifted to Medical Center of Plano in serious condition, but has since been upgraded to stable condition.
Update: Congressman Ralph Hall was air lifted to Medical Center of Plano in serious condition, but has since been upgraded to stable condition on Saturday.

The World War II veteran and local Congressman since 1980 was flown to the hospital from Fannin County after a two-vehicle collision around 2:50 p.m. Saturday on State Highway 121 in Trenton, Texas.

Rep. Hall’s trademark quote is “I’d rather be respected at home than liked in Washington.”

DPS told reporters that 23-year-old Zachary Bohannon of Trenton, Texas, was attempting to turn onto County Road 4545 when he ran into the vehicle in which Hall was a passenger.

The 91-year-old Hall is credited with finding a way to cut through a federal bureaucratic log jam recently to get more water flowing again toward Lake Lavon after zebra mussels at Lake Texoma slowed water treatment processes.

The Congressman’s staff reports that the Congressman suffered a hip injury and has minor cuts and bruises. He was said to be in serious condition en route to the hospital. His staff reports that the old soldier is expected to make a full recovery.

The driver in the vehicle with Rep. Hall was taken to a McKinney hospital.

State Troopers report Bohannon was not injured, and the accident is under investigation.

Rep. Hall won’t be on the ballot in November for the first time since Jimmy Carter was president. Republican voters picked John Ratcliffe in the Republican primary runoff.

The 4th Congressional District of Texas is situated in the northeast corner of The Lone Star State and borders Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana.

Congressman Hall, an SMU Law grad, represents Texas on the Energy and Commerce Committee. He has also served as Chairman of the Science, Space, and Technology Committee. He is a member of both the Energy and Power Subcommittee and the Environment and Economy Subcommittee.

Between 1950 and 1962, he served as County Judge of Rockwall County, Texas, and in 1958-1959 served as President of the State Judges and Commissioners Association. He also was elected and served as a Texas State Senator from 1962 to 1972, serving as President Pro Tempore in 1968-1969.

On November 27, 2012, Congressman Hall became the oldest member in the U.S. House of Representatives to ever cast a vote, surpassing the previous record held by Rep. Charles Stedman (D-NC). The following month, on December 25, 2012, he became the oldest-serving Member of the U.S. House of Representatives in recorded history.

At the  beginning of the 113th Congress, Congressman Hall was named Chairman Emeritus of the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, following his service as Chairman of the Committee in the 112th Congress. His efforts on the Committee include:

  • Promoting science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) education;
  • Ensuring sound science precedes any regulations imposed by the Administration;
  • Advancing research and development (R&D) for new technologies to keep America
  • competitive;
  • Expanding production of America’s abundant energy resources and seeking alternative sources to reduce costs and increase national security; and
  • Maintaining America’s preeminence in space.

Hall was born in Fate, Texas – Rockwall County – and attended public schools in Rockwall. In 1942, he joined the U.S. Navy, serving during World War II as a lieutenant (senior grade) aircraft carrier pilot from 1942 to 1945. After the War, he received his LL.B. from Southern Methodist University in 1951, was admitted to the Texas Bar, and maintained a private law practice in Rockwall.

Note: Several have called to ask where to send Get Well cards. Congressman Hall’s local office is at 104 N. San Jacinto St. in Rockwall, TX 75087-2508.

– Brian Bearden

Collin County Primary Run-off Election results


Matt Shaheen won the Republican Primary Run-off
Team Matt Shaheen won the Republican Primary Run-off



SUSAN FLETCHER 54.0, Mark Reid 46.0

“I would like to take this time to thank the voters of Collin County for their vote and ultimately the trust they have placed in me to be the next elected Commissioner for Precinct 1,” Susan Hayes Fletcher said. “I am honored to have earned this trust and do not take it lightly. From day one, I was focused on running a positive issue-oriented campaign and that resonated with the citizens of Collin County. I would like to also thank my opponent, Mark Reid, for his service to the county. We need to honor those who are willing to step up and serve their community and encourage citizen participation. I would also like to thank the volunteers who gave of their time and treasure to make this campaign successful. They put their trust in me and I am proud of the campaign we ran. I look forward to the challenge ahead and ask for everyone to come together and keep making Collin County the Jewel of North Texas.


Republican Run-off

JOHN RATCLIFFE 54.93, Ralph Hall 45.07


Democrat Run-off

DAVID ALAMEEL 76.63, Kesha Rogers 23.37


Republican Run-off

 KEN PAXTON 69.91, Dan Branch 30.09


Republican Run-off

MATT SHAHEEN 53.8, Glenn Callison 46.2

“Robyn and I feel truly blessed for the victory tonight and are thankful to God,” Matt Shaheen said. “I want to thank the many volunteers, statewide organizations and State Representatives who stood with me in my fight for liberty. I am grateful for the outcome tonight and what’s to come!”


Republican Run-off

 DAN PATRICK 68.95, David Dewhurst 31.05


Republican Run-off

 RYAN SITTON 51.33, Wayne Christian 48.67

“With your support, we were able to win the runoff election for Railroad Commissioner,” Ryan Sitton said. “I can’t thank you enough for all your efforts on my behalf.

“We have a lot of work to do between now and the general election,” Sitton said. “I’m committed to working as hard as ever to earn every Texans’ vote. After all, it is important that every Texan is confident and proud of our energy industry and the Railroad Commission must be out in front representing you every day in a responsible way.

“I also want to thank Wayne Christian and his supporters for a spirited race,” Sitton said. “Wayne should be proud of his campaign and past service to our state. Thank you again for supporting me. Together we will make sure Texas leads America to becoming the global leader in energy.”



RICHARD FRIEDMAN 56.3, Jim Hogan 43.7


SID MILLER 62.28, Tommy Merritt 37.72,%202014%20Combined%20Election%20Day%20and%20Early%20Ballots%20-%20Accumulated%20Totals.pdf


WHO ARE OUR READERS? – Collin County Demographics:


* Carriage rides – 214-662-6705

* CPA-Taxes – Financial Planning – Andre + CPA 972-548-1040

* Golf Tee Times –

* Guitar Sanctuary –


* Discount Prescriptions and Pet Meds –

The independent brings you local news updates and resources for Collin County and North Texas. We support Shopping Local First in Allen, Anna, Celina, Fairview, Farmersville, Frisco, Lovejoy, Lucas, McKinney, Melissa, Murphy, New Hope, Parker, Plano, Princeton, Prosper, Richardson, Rockwall, Stonebridge, Watters Creek, Weston and Wylie. … THANKS FOR SHARING – * @CollinHeadlines – * @CollinHeadlines – *

%d bloggers like this: